Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

PTSD: National Center for PTSD


Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

Advisory Boards


About Us

This section is about our Mission, Vision, Staff, & Press Room

This section is about our Mission, Vision, Staff, and Press Room

Advisory Boards

Since the Center's inception its priorities and projects have been reviewed by a Scientific Advisory Board and an Educational Advisory Board who meet with Center leaders annually and as needed. Board members include national experts in PTSD and key officials from VA and non-VA federal departments. While providing valuable input, both boards have consistently found the National Center's performance in research and education outstanding.

Educational Advisory Board

The following is a list of the members of our fiscal year (FY) 2014 Educational Advisory Board. We thank each and every one of you for your invaluable input.

Chair: Dean Kilpatrick, PhD
Distinguished University Professor of Clinical Psychology
Vice-Chair for Education, Dept of Psychiatry
Director of National Crime Victims Research & Treatment Center
Medical University of South Carolina

Deborah Amdur, LCSW
Director, White River Junction VAMC

COL Dave Benedek, MD, LTC, MC, USA
Associate Professor & Assistant Chair, Dept of Psychiatry
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Thomas J. Berger, PhD
Executive Director, Veterans Health Council
Vietnam Veterans of America

Kathy L. Henderson, MD
Associate Director, VA South Central (VISN 16) MIRECC
Clinical Coordinator, VA MH QUERI

Michael R. Kauth, PhD
Co-Director & Associate Director for Education, VA South Central (VISN 16) MIRECC

Daniel Kivlahan, PhD
National Mental Health Program Director, Addictive Disorders, VA Mental Health Services
Associate Professor, Dept of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington

Jackie Malffuci, PhD
Research Director, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Lisa A. Marsch, PhD
Director, Center for Technology and Behavioral Health
Director, Dartmouth Psychiatric Research Center
Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Dartmouth College

David S. Riggs, PhD
Executive Director, Center for Deployment Psychology
Research Associate Professor, Dept of Medical and Clinical Psychology
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Kenneth Weingardt, PhD
National Director, Web Services, VA Mental Health Services

Scientific Advisory Board

The following is a list of the members of our FY14 Scientific Advisory Board. We thank each and every one of you for your invaluable input.

Chair: John Fairbank, PhD
Professor, Dept of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Co-Director, National Center for Child Traumatic Stress
Duke University Medical Center
Director, VISN 6 MIRECC

COL Carl A. Castro, PhD
Assistant Professor and Research Director, Center for Innovation and Research on Veterans and Military Families
University of Southern California

Bradford L. Felker, MD
Professor, Dept of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
University of Washington School of Medicine
VA Puget Sound Health Care System

JoAnn Kirchner, MD
Associate Director for Clinical Care, VA South Central MIRECC

Karestan Koenen, PhD
Director, Psychiatric-Neurological Epidemiology Cluster
Professor of Epidemiology
Mailman School of Public Health
Columbia University

Thomas C. Neylan, MD
Director, PTSD Program, San Francisco VAMC

Alan L. Peterson, PhD, ABPP
Professor, Dept of Psychiatry
Chief, Division of Behavioral Medicine

Deputy Chair for Military Collaboration
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Barbara O. Rothbaum, PhD, ABPP
Professor in Psychiatry
Director, Trauma and Anxiety Recovery Program
Associate Vice Chair of Clinical Research
Emory University School of Medicine

Farris Tuma, ScD
National Institute of Mental Health
Division of Translational Research
Traumatic Stress Disorders Research Program

Robert Ursano, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience
Chair, Dept of Psychiatry
Director, Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress
Uniformed Services University Medical School

Ex-Officio: Theresa Gleason, PhD
Portfolio/Program Manager
VA Clinical Science Research & Development

Date this content was last updated is at the bottom of the page.

Share this page

About Face

Learn from Veterans how PTSD Treatment can turn your life around.

PTSD Coach Online

Tools to help you manage stress.

The National Center for PTSD does not provide direct clinical care, individual referrals or benefits information.

PTSD Information Voice Mail:
(802) 296-6300
Contact Us:
Also see: VA Mental Health