Expert Panels - PTSD: National Center for PTSD
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

PTSD: National Center for PTSD


Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

Expert Panels

Share this page

Expert Panels

Since the National Center's inception its priorities and projects have been reviewed by an Expert Scientific Panel and an Expert Educational Panel who meets with Center leaders annually and as needed. Panel members include national experts in PTSD and key officials from VA and non-VA federal departments. While providing valuable input, both panels have consistently found the National Center’s performance in research and education outstanding.

The following is a list of the members of our fiscal year 2017 (FY17) Expert Educational Panel. We thank each and every one of you for your invaluable input.

Chair: Dean Kilpatrick, PhD
Distinguished University Professor
Vice-Chair for Education, Department of Psychiatry
Director, National Crime Victims Research & Treatment Center
Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina

Thomas J. Berger, PhD
Executive Director, Veterans Health Council
Vietnam Veterans of America

Craig Bryan, PsyD, ABPP
Executive Director, National Center for Veterans Studies
The University of Utah

Ann Feder, LCSW
VISN 2 Mental Health Co-Lead
Department of Veterans Affairs
Bronx, NY

Michael Fisher, MSW
Chief Officer
Readjustment Counseling Service
Department of Veterans Affairs

Michael R. Kauth, PhD
Co-Director South Central (VISN 16) MIRECC
Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
Director, LGBT Program, Patient Care Services
Department of Veterans Affairs
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Baylor College of Medicine

Kacie Kelly, MS
Program Director, Health and Wellbeing
George W. Bush Presidential Center

Jackie Maffucci, PhD
Former Research Director, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

Lisa A. Marsch, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Director, Dartmouth Center for Technology and Behavioral Health

David S. Riggs, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Medical and Clinical Psychology
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Executive Director, Center for Deployment Psychology

The following is a list of the members of our FY17 Expert Scientific Panel. We thank each and every one of you for your invaluable input.

Chair: John Fairbank, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Co-Director, National Center for Child Traumatic Stress
Duke University Medical Center
Director, VISN 6 MIRECC
Durham VA Medical Center

COL Dave Benedek, MD, MC, USA
Professor/Deputy Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Associate Director, Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress

Susan E. Borja, PhD
Chief, Dimensional Traumatic Stress Research Program
Division of Translational Research, National Institute of Mental Health

Sandro Galea, MD, DrPH
Dean Robert A. Knox Professor
Boston University School of Public Health

JoAnn Kirchner, MD
VA QUERI for Team-Based Behavioral Health
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Alfred Montoya, MHA
Medical Center Director
White River Junction VA Medical Center

Thomas C. Neylan, MD
Director, PTSD Clinic and Stress and Health Research Program
San Francisco VA Medical Center
Professor of Psychiatry
University of California, San Francisco

Alan L. Peterson, PhD, ABPP
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Chief, Division of Behavioral Medicine
Director, Consortium to Alleviate PTSD
Deputy Chair for Military Collaboration
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Kerry Ressler, MD, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer
James and Patricia Poitras Chair in Psychiatry
Chief, Division of Depression & Anxiety Disorders, McLean Hospital
Professor of Psychiatry
Harvard Medical School

Barbara O. Rothbaum, PhD, ABPP
Professor in Psychiatry
Director, Trauma and Anxiety Recovery Program
Associate Vice Chair of Clinical Research
Emory University School of Medicine

Elizabeth Yano, PhD, MSPH
Director, VA HSR&D Center for the Study of Healthcare Innovation, Implementation & Policy
Deputy Associate Chief of Staff (ACOS) for Health Services Research
VA Greater LA Healthcare System
Adjunct Professor of Health Policy & Management
UCLA Fielding School of Public Health
Department of Health Policy and Management

Ex-Officio: Theresa Gleason, PhD
Director Clinical Science R&D Service
Department of Veterans Affairs

Get help for PTSD

If you need help right away:


PTSD Information Voice Mail:
(802) 296-6300
Also see: VA Mental Health

Site Map